Political People and their Moves

Comptroller Susan Combs hired Lauren Willis as communications director for the that office. Willis most recently served as director of public affairs for Texas Railroad Commissioner David Porter.

Longtime Texas state Sierra Club director Ken Kramer announced that he is retiring July 31 after 30 years. He's the only director the regional office has ever had, holding that office since 1989 after working as a contract lobbyist for the organization.

Gov. Rick Perry was busy filling posts this week. He appointed:

Don Minton of El Paso as judge of El Paso County Criminal District Court No. 1. Minton is an attorney in private practice and a former criminal district court judge.

A. Cynthia “Cindy” Leon of Mission to chairwoman of the Texas Public Safety Commission. Leon is retired regional director of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Toby Baker to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. Baker was a policy and budget advisor to Perry and used to work for Sen. Craig Estes, R-Wichita Falls.

• Andres Alcantar of Pflugerville to chairman of the Texas Workforce Commission. Alcantar is currently commissioner of the Texas Workforce Commission, a position he has held since his appointment in August 2008. He is former deputy director of the Governor’s Office Budget, Planning and Policy Division.

• Dr. Vincent Di Maio of San Antonio to chairman of the Texas Forensic Science Commission. Di Maio is a board-certified anatomical, clinical and forensic pathologist, and a private forensic pathology consultant.

Michael Cooper Waters of Dallas as chairman of the State Library and Archives Commission. Waters is a senior healthcare consultant and former CEO of Hendrick Health System.

• Harold Berenzweig of Fort Worth to the Correctional Managed Health Care Committee. Berenzweig is a physician and vice president of medical and information management at Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital.

Billy Bradford Jr. of Brownsville chairman of the Texas Water Development Board. Bradford is a certified public accountant and partner at Hales-Bradford LLP.

• Seven members to the Specialty Courts Advisory Council. Sabrina Bentley of Georgetown is a senior DWI and drug court officer for the Williamson County Community Supervision and Corrections Department. Denise Bradley of Cypress is judge of the 262nd Criminal District Court in Harris County and a former assistant district attorney there. Keta Dickerson of Richardson is a program manager for Dallas County Divert Court. Amy Granberry of Portland is director of organizational development for Charlie’s Place. Patrick McCann of Richmond is an attorney in private practice. Leon Pesek Jr. of Texarkana is judge of the 202nd Judicial District Court. Raymond Wheless of Allen is judge of the 366th Judicial District Court and former judge of Collin County Court at Law No. 4.

 Elizabeth “Christy” Jack of Fort Worth and Leo Longoria of McAllen to new terms at the Office of Violent Sex Offender Management Governing Board. Jack is chief prosecutor for the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office. Longoria is retired chief of police for the City of Mission Police Department.