Political People and their Moves

John W. Townes III of Granbury was named by Gov. Rick Perry to the Texas Lottery Commission for a term to expire Feb. 1, 2015.

George W. Brown III of Beaumont, Bradley "Brad" Rutledge of Orange and James Scott of Beaumont were named by Perry to the Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners for terms to expire Aug. 22, 2015.

James “Jim” Jeffers of Nacogdoches was named by Perry to the Texas Municipal Retirement System Board of Directors for a term to expire Feb. 1, 2015.

Agustin "Gus" Lucas Reyes is the new director of the Baptist General Convention of Texas' Christian Life Commission. Reyes has been with the BGCT since 2002 with his most recent position being director of affinity ministries and Hispanic Education Initiative.

Adrianna Cuéllar Rojas is the new president and CEO of United Ways of Texas. She began in the position on Jan. 1, succeeding Karen R. Johnson who helmed to organization for 13 years. Rojas came to UWT from The Meadows Foundation, where she served as senior program officer since 1997.

James W. Prescott is the new head of the Texas Medical Association Insurance Trust. He replaces Larry G. Stein who stepped down last month after 29 years of service.