Political People and their Moves

Chris Wallace has been hired as the new president and chief operating officer for the Texas Association of Business. Wallace is currently the president and CEO of the Greater Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce. His first day at TAB is May 15. Bill Hammond will continue to serve as the CEO of TAB, where he will focus on its core mission of legislative advocacy.

HHSC deputy inspector general Jack Stick is on temporary assignment as HHSC interim chief counsel. He's taking over for Steve Aragon, whose last day as chief counsel was Thursday.

Kathleen Thea Jackson of Beaumont was named by Gov. Rick Perry to the Texas Water Development Board for a term effective March 18, 2014, and to expire Feb. 1, 2015.

Beth Madison of Houston was named by Perry to the University of Houston System Board of Regents for a term to expire Aug. 31, 2015.

Caven Crosnoe of Wichita Falls, Shawn Hessing of Fort Worth and Nancy Marks of Wichita Falls were named by Perry to the Midwestern State University Board of Regents for terms to expire Feb. 25, 2020.

William F. Scott II of Nederland was named by Perry to the Lower Neches Valley Authority Board of Directors for a term to expire July 28, 2015.

Debra Medina's campaign for comptroller picked up the endorsement of state Rep. David Simpson, R-Longview, a Tea Party favorite.

Disclosure: At the time of publication, the Texas Association of Business was a corporate sponsor of the Texas Tribune. (See the full list of Tribune donors below $1,000 here.)