Political People and their Moves

Gov. Greg Abbott named Wesley Lloyd of Waco, an attorney at Freeman Mills PC, to serve on the Brazos River Authority Board of Directors until Feb. 1, 2017.

Abbott appointed Anthony “Tony” Jaso of San Antonio to serve as presiding officer of the Texas Board of Medical Radiologic Technology, which regulates the practice. Jaso, senior vice president of Estrada Hinojosa & Company, was selected to serve on the board until Feb. 1, 2021. Abbott also named eight others to terms on the body: Nicholas Beckmann of Houston and Scott Morren of Anton to serve until Feb. 1, 2021; Faraz Khan of Houston, Regan Landreth of Georgetown and Carol Waddell of West until Feb. 1, 2019; and Joe Chow of Dallas, Jennifer Flanagan of Fort Worth and Shannon Lutz of Cypress until Feb. 1, 2017.

State Rep. Senfronia Thompson, D-Houston, rolled out this week a list of endorsements from a couple of Houston congressmen and eight Houston-area state legislators who are backing her candidacy for the state Senate seat being vacated by Rodney Ellis. The endorsers are: U.S. Reps. Al Green and Gene Green; and state Reps. Alma Allen, Garnet ColemanHarold Dutton Jr.Jessica FarrarAna HernandezRon Reynolds, Hubert VoArmando Walle and Gene Wu.